It’s All Part of the Plan

Part of “aspiring” is planning. If you want to be something, you have to have a plan on how you’re going to get there. However loose it is, however much it depends on factors beyond your control, it must exist. When one fails, move on to the next one. There are a million paths to TV writing. I have to always be on one.

I’m starting to prepare for the summer contests. For the uninitiated, I’m talking about the Disney/ABC Television Writing Program, the WB Writers’ Workshop and  NBC Writers On The Verge. None of them have their applications open yet, so I don’t know their exact deadlines, but it’s usually around June 1, so that’s what I’ll be aiming for. I need to have a new spec script written and polished to a gleam by then. I’ll also have to write essays that address three basic questions:
1. How are you an interesting person?
2. How are you “diverse?” (note: this is not necessarily about race)
3. How is it that someone as clearly talented as you is not already a successful writer?

Of course, what the application will actually say is, “Tell us in one page/500 words why you’re interested in the program.” This is not easy. So I am starting now. I have a couple weeks of research lined up before I really start writing my spec, but then it’s full speed ahead.

About Generation Coax

I am an aspiring TV writer, amateur photographer, and craft hobbyist.
This entry was posted in advice and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s All Part of the Plan

  1. Pingback: An Easy Win | Generation Coax

  2. Pingback: Dating yourself (not like that) | Generation Coax

Leave a Reply

