The Way We Were

When I was a page, I worked on Frasier. When I was a PA, I worked on Out of Practice. We had many of the same writers, same offices, same stage. We even had the same warm-up, to keep the audience occupied between takes. I believe his name was Dave Willis, although I can’t find a crew list. One of his favorite gimmicks was to have his DJ play from a CD of theme songs that he had. He’d say, “play number 17!” and the theme song would play and he’d have the audience member guess the song. I knew all of them. They were older shows: Rockford Files, Columbo, The A-Team, Murder, She Wrote. Shows that I not only was raised watching, but that my parents still watch every day. With satellite, you can find almost anything airing at some point during the day. (Especially NCIS. There are probably at least two stations airing NCIS as you read this.) And we watched a lot of TV. My first words were “Buck Rogers.” (Really.)

But that doesn’t mean I’ve seen everything. Lately, Twin Peaks keeps coming up in conversation. Whenever a show is a murder mystery but not a procedural, or a primetime soap, someone brings up Laura Palmer. But I’ve never seen Twin Peaks. So, as an experiment, I’m going to try watching it now. I understand season 1 was good but season 2 is bad. And that’s about it. The cable shows are starting to come back but the network shows are slowly going on hiatus or ending, so I might be able to squeeze in a couple extra hours. It’s on Netflix Streaming if you’d like to watch with me. Shall we?

About Generation Coax

I am an aspiring TV writer, amateur photographer, and craft hobbyist.
This entry was posted in production, recaps, twin peaks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

