New Series: Best Time Ever with Neil Patrick Harris

I watched this premiere Tuesday night. I know it’s not strictly scripted (I mean, it very clearly is, but not in the sense we usually mean it) but I like NPH and I like variety and talents, so why not?

It was painful. The computer graphic that was supposed to replace a spontaneous wheel spin looked like it was reading cue cards. Reese Witherspoon appeared as herself in the role of Guest Announcer, but she played a dumb blonde. She’s not a dumb woman. It doesn’t help her life, her career, or the image of women in general to pretend that she (and not her characters) is an idiot. So why was there a whole segment on how she thought antiques came from Antigua? And then they pranked The Voice. I appreciate not pranking regular people on the street, because I have strong feelings about putting people on TV who have not asked to be on TV, but crossover promotion’s not necessarily the way to go either when, by definition, you can’t be particularly edgy. Sure, it’s amusing when a “journalist” tells two people seated next to each other that each is his favorite, but I’m willing to bet that actually plays out at parties and press events all the time. It’s more of a gentle ribbing than a prank. Happily, I do not have to add another show to my Season Pass list.

Next week the real insanity begins. Let me know which new shows you watch, which you’ll continue watching, and which will be rudely snubbed by your DVR. Personally, I’m most looking forward to the Muppets. I know I’m a drama writer, but give me some puppets and I’ll stare at the screen forever. I will likely watch this one even if it’s not very good. (Pleasebegoodpleasebegoodpleasebegood.)

About Generation Coax

I am an aspiring TV writer, amateur photographer, and craft hobbyist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

