Cleaning off the DVR

Shows that were deleted from my Season Pass list this year:

The Soup: This makes me so sad! A big part of being a TV writer is watching TV, so you can talk about TV. And there’s a whole genre that I just have no interest in, but because I watched The Soup for 30 minutes every week, I could keep up on all of those conversations. When something from the scripted world made the cut, I’d cheer. I thought it was great. This is almost as bad as when Television Without Pity shut down. I’m sorry, I can’t talk about this. I’m in mourning.

The Writers’ Room: This show was apparently canceled, quietly and recently. I really liked it. I mean, this was a show designed specifically for wannabe-writers. It did have trouble finding itself: it was clearly sold on a great concept and then had trouble turning that into a narrative format. Which is surprisingly common in reality TV. So while I liked the show and would have loved to see more and am disappointed, I can’t say I’m surprised.

NTSF:SD:SUV::: [sic] Another one that was canceled and I had no idea.I practiced to be able to say this name! It was a fun little show, but I’ve no doubt everyone involved will go on to other great, fun shows.

Robot Chicken: Not canceled. Going as strong as it ever has. I think I simply outgrew it. I enjoyed it for a few years, but by definition the show doesn’t evolve over time and I have. Simply time to pass it on to the next generation. Bon apetit!

The Affair: I did watch all of season 2, and there were some parts I really liked. But the more I watched, the more it became painfully obvious that I was agreeing to spend an hour each week with an asshole. Even in Noah’s own telling of events, he does things that are inexcusable, and when you see them from someone else’s point of view, they’re unforgivable. The moments of inspiration or insight just aren’t worth it to me anymore.

Luther: This one’s tricky. I’ve seen season 4, which is one 3-hr episode. And this week I went back and watched the previous seasons again. I like Luther. But Idris Alba was on The Daily Show a couple weeks ago, and was joking that the next season will just be a movie, because each season gets progressively shorter and there’s nowhere else to go except a movie. And that’s when I realized that if there is a season 5, it is well over a year away and will be heavily publicized and I can just manually record it then. It doesn’t need to be on my season pass list.

About Generation Coax

I am an aspiring TV writer, amateur photographer, and craft hobbyist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

