2017 Emmy Nominations

2017 Emmy Nominations are out, and I’d like to congratulate my friends Franki Butler, who wasn’t personally nominated but wrote on this season’s Genius, which was, and Jack Dolgen, who was nominated as one of the songwriters for Crazy Ex Girlfriend. Also, a bunch of the music supervisors and composers who I know through work were nominated. This is the first year there’s a Music Supervision category, so everyone here is very excited about that.

Of course, the big question is, Am I watching all the good stuff? So:

Best Drama Series
House of Cards (Netflix) – NOT YET
Better Call Saul (AMC) – YES
The Crown (Netflix) – WATCHING NOW
The Handmaid’s Tale (Hulu) – YES
This Is Us (NBC) – NOT PAST THE PILOT
Westworld (HBO) – YES
Stranger Things (Netflix) – YES

Best Comedy Series
Veep (HBO) – NOT PAST THE PILOT
Atlanta (FX) – YES
Black-ish (ABC) – YES
Master of None (Netflix) – YES
Modern Family (ABC) – NOT ANYMORE
Silicon Valley (HBO) – NO, BUT MY CARPOOL BUDDY WROTE A SPEC THIS YEAR SO I GOT TO HEAR ALL ABOUT IT
Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt (Netflix) – YES, BUT I’M BEHIND

Best Limited Series
Big Little Lies (HBO) – YES
Feud (FX) – NOT YET, BUT IT’S ON THE LIST
The Night Of (HBO) – YES
Fargo (FX) – NOT YET, BUT IT’S ON THE LIST
Genius (National Geographic) – YES

Not too bad. I should be caught up on everything I intend to catch up on before the Emmys on September 17th. Things that are on my list just got shuffled up a bit, so keep an eye out for binge-watch posts. I’m preparing one now for Dear White People, and also a couple posts on background research: I recently read the Legion omnibus and watched the 1973 Westworld movie, and now I have THOUGHTS and FEELINGS.

About Generation Coax

I am an aspiring TV writer, amateur photographer, and craft hobbyist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

